Canalblog
Editer l'article Suivre ce blog Administration + Créer mon blog
Publicité
Ba Gua Brothers
12 juillet 2007

Broken wooden stick

Yesterday was a sort of a special day for the school, for neither the kids nor us had a regular morning training. Instead, we took a little walk through the city and then occupied a little square where we quickly rounded up a crowd of people startled and attracted by the unusual scene. Not only the whole school was outside of its walls, but there was also, two "laowai" in town, dressed up with chinese martial arts clothes ! (We were only Jakob and I ; Travis was in Zhengzhou that day). Then a little show took place performed by the students, the regular pupils and us. Ba Ji and Ba Gua forms, Ba Gua sets, broken iron bars and broken wooden sticks were scheduled. We even had a guy who broke a bottle of beer on his head... crazy... I was quite dazed.

DSCN9946I went in a much deeper bewilderment when a student annonced me Laoshi Li's funny idea that it'd be cool if he could break a stick on my laowai back. I'd never trained myself for this kind of crazy stuff before, but as I kinda liked the spontaneity of this all and as I knew my back as not to be the most skinny in the world, I didn't think to much and stood in the middle of the square ready to be hit hard. I didn't really know what to expect, I just knew that I had to empty my mind, to make myself as resistant as possible (physically and mentally) and, most important, to blindly trust my teacher who was about to break a wooden stick on my back. Then the later started counting... yi... er... san... !?"'@;;$* ?!!
DSCN9948The blow was pretty intense and the pain surprising, but I went on with the same empty mind to dwindle the effect of the experience. Actually it wasn't so painful (as would be a normal pain), but the shock kinda took my breath away for couple of seconds and gave me an awkward feeling of being hurt in my entire body. After a short time everything was back to normal. Then I saw the same student approaching Jakob. "Yeah man, you should try cause the teacher is good at it. It's a good opportunity to do this crazy stuff once in your life !" were the only words I had the time to say before his inner-Viking pushed him straight on stage. I must say that I deeply respected the courage of my friend as he weights a quater less than me and had never trained that kind of things neither.

While walking back to the school I realized that I had not much merit in the story. Basically I just stood strong and did nothing but endure the impact. The most important part of the work was actually done by Laoshi Li. I confess that if instead of him, Jakob would have been the guy, I wouldn't have been crazy enough to let him try three times to break the stick and eventually give up after having broken nothing but a couple of my ribs and maybe even my neck. So as a conclusion, to have a wooden stick broken on one's back isn't such a big deal. But then to be the trusted one that break the stick on somebody's back... here is the next thing I'm gonna train in cooperation with my faithful dane bro Jakob ! ;-)DSCN9950

Publicité
Commentaires
Ba Gua Brothers
Publicité
Archives
Publicité